This lovely Inn and Gardens was once a Convent; built in 1860 and now fully restored, it showcases beautiful architecture and strolling gardens.
Beautiful old trim, wide staircases and high ceilings are just some of the features of this historic building. The hardwood covered hallways on the main floor lead to large spacious rooms which have been restored and decorated to suit the elegance of the brick building originally built in the 1860’s.
Each of the 17 rooms, decorated in one of three color schemes, shows off a breathtaking view of the grounds and surrounding areas within Tignish.
Stroll along the quiet pathway nestled in the trees from the Inn leading down to the road, or enjoy a nature walk along the newly developed Confederation Trail located nearby. A short walk from the Inn will also find you at the parish church with its magnificent pipe organ, the Tignish Museum with a collection of historic photos and artifacts on the former convent and the village itself, and many food outlets such as bakeries, restaurants and grocery stores.
Relax after a long day of travelling and sightseeing by joining others in the sitting room and browse through old yearbooks dating back to when this building was an educational institution. Visualize how the Inn looked many decades ago when it was filled with young students attending classes taught by the sisters from the Congregation-de-Notre Dame.
Tignish Heritage INN Cafe by Mermaids Kiss is open from 8 AM – 3 PM and open to the public from Wednesday to Sunday.