Arrive at the International Fox Museum and Hall of Fame with curiosity and an inquiring mind. Learn about the fascinating industry of fox ranching, the legacy of the rare Silver Black Fox, and an industry that had its international headquarters here in Summerside. Find out why the industry started here in Canada’s smallest province, how it grew, and why it declined to a faint shadow of its former self. Discover what the fur trade meant to Prince Edward Island over several decades. The International Fox Museum tells the story of the industry through exhibits, artifacts, and real stories about people who made Prince Edward Island fox farming a worldwide industry. The museum is located on the first level of the Summerside Armoury, a heritage building acquired by the City in 1996.
Situated at 33 Summer Street across from City Hall, the brick and stone structure was constructed in 1911 and is one of the last of its design in Canada. It served until 1992 as the home of local militia/reserve units and has an interesting history in and of itself. The building also houses a seasonal exhibit space, Gallery 33, on the second level.